



Staff Report

Date:

June 13, 2019

To:

Mayor Kuhl and Council Members

From:

Joe Chinn, Town Manager

Subject:

Election of Mayor and Mayor Pro Tempore

Background and discussion

The Council appoints a Mayor and Mayor Pro Tempore each year which has been done in July and more recently, in June. The position of Mayor and Mayor Pro Tempore rotates among the five-member group allowing each member the opportunity to serve in each position. Past positions held for the last seven years are:

Date	Mayor	Mayor Pro Tempore
June 2018	Beach Kuhi	Elizabeth Brekhus
June 2017	Elizabeth Robbins	Beach Kuhl
June 2016	Katie Hoertkorn (2 nd Term)	Elizabeth Robbins
July 2015	Katie Hoertkorn	Carla Small
July 2014	Elizabeth Brekhus	Katie Hoertkorn
July 2013	Beach Kuhl	Elizabeth Brekhus
July 2012	Rupert Russell	Beach Kuhl

Historically, the appointment of Mayor and Mayor Pro Tempore follows the Council election results per Government Code Section 36801 which states:

"The city council shall meet at the meeting at which the declaration of the election results for a general municipal election is made pursuant to Sections 10262 and 10263 of the Elections Code and, following the declaration of the election results and the installation of elected officials, choose one of its number as mayor, and one of its number as mayor pro tempore."

The next Council election will be held in March 2020 (rather than June) due to the statewide primary election moving to March of even-numbered years. This date change results in the next Mayor and Mayor Pro Tempore serving a shorter term until the March 2020 election results are certified and the new Councilmembers are sworn in at the April Council meeting. At that April 2020 meeting, the next election of Mayor and Mayor Pro Tempore will occur.